Waterfront history, re-envisioned
Domino Park begins the next chapter of the Williamsburg waterfront. Named after the redeveloped Domino Sugar Refinery, the 5-acre park provides public greenspace along the East River for the first time in 160 years. The site’s industrial history is showcased via salvaged elements of the refinery; with a playground, fountains, and a 5-block long Artifact Walk that features cranes, syrup tanks, and original columns from the raw sugar warehouse.
In designing the lighting for Domino Park, we worked with James Corner Field Operations to re-envision the site’s history while creating an accessible, exciting atmosphere for the next generation of visitors. Originally built in 1882, the Domino Sugar Refinery bears the traces of a century and a half. Rather than use lighting to conceal its rough edges, we used color to play up the scale of the architecture, and to create a sense of drama. Cooler color temperatures push taller structures into the background, while warmer color temperatures bring more accessible, human-scale objects into the foreground, creating an inviting entry-point into the space.